Clear all

NF 5030 spectrum analyzer questions

8 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
16.6 K Views
(@mapperian)
Topic starter  

I am a newbie with spectrum analyzer. I want to buy NF5030 spectrum analyzer for my project. I downloaded the datasheet from the internet but i do not have complete information to make a decision whether this analyzer will be useful for my purpose. I could not find a post that answers my queries. Can you please answer the following questions:
- What is the spatial resolution of the sensor?
- What kind of sensor and sensor technology is used in the analyzer?
- What is the spectral resolution of the analyzer?
- What is the noise specification?
- Is it possible to automate the analyzer [connect to PC and use NI cards etc.]?
- How fast the measurements can be transferred to PC?
- How many data points can the internal memory store?

I would highly appreciate if i could get a reply soon.

(@moderator)
Noble Member Admin

- What is the spatial resolution of the sensor?

Of WHICH sensor?

- What kind of sensor and sensor technology is used in the analyzer?

See data sheets (electric field sensor, magnetic field sensor and static magnetic field sensor). Anyway you can also connect any other sensor to the analog input (vibration, mic etc.).

- What is the spectral resolution of the analyzer?

See data sheets (0,3Hz)

- What is the noise specification?

This is impossible to answer. It depends on frequency, span and used sensor. The maximum possible specs are shown in the data sheets.

- Is it possible to automate the analyzer [connect to PC and use NI cards etc.]?

Yes you can also write your own application via our programmers guide which we offer for free download.

- How fast the measurements can be transferred to PC?

This is done in REALTIME, there is no delay at all in transferring data to the PC software

- How many data points can the internal memory store?