What is the maximum size of HF-6065 log file?  

  RSS

Cetis1
(@cetis1)
Active Member
Joined: 10 years ago
Posts: 8
03/12/2010 9:29 pm  

I have HF-6065 with the optional 1MB memory expansion installed.

What is the maximum number of data points that can be stored in the log file?

Is it possible to store any other data into the log file, or are the frequency and amplitude the only 2 items that can be stored?

Following is a sample from one of my log files:

Freq (Mhz) Value (dBm)
1922 -49.90
1923 -17.90
1925 -23.83
1927 -24.58
1928 -36.79
1922 -31.65
1923 -17.85
1925 -23.90
1927 -24.57
1928 -36.71
1922 -31.51
1923 -17.87
1925 -23.92
1927 -24.31
1928 -20.05

It appears that a maximum of 1250 data items can be recorded into the log file. Does this seem like a typical value?

When the log file is full, then no more items get added to it, but the HF keeps operating OK.


Quote
Cetis1
(@cetis1)
Active Member
Joined: 10 years ago
Posts: 8
06/12/2010 7:22 pm  

How many bytes in memory does 1 data point occupy?

As noted above, I was able to log a maximum of about 1250 frequency/amplitude data points. But the Spectran sales literature claims that the log capacity is much higher (10,000 log data items):

"The memory expansion (1MB) provides space for more than 10,000 logs, while the standard memory (64K) will only accommodate approximately 100 of them"

Please explain? Which is correct for the 1MB memory expansion? 1250 logs, or 10,000 logs?

Also, you didn't answer my question about whether it is possible to log any other data besides the frequency and amplitude?

Thanks and best regards!


ReplyQuote
Moderator
(@moderator)
Member Admin
Joined: 10 years ago
Posts: 1048
06/12/2010 10:15 pm  

If you want other datas to be stored simply change the logger program.
We will have a closer look to this memory issue and report later, propably its a firmware bug.

Snip


ReplyQuote
Cetis1
(@cetis1)
Active Member
Joined: 10 years ago
Posts: 8
06/12/2010 11:14 pm  

I don't think the log file size limitation is due to a software bug. Rather, I think there was a typo in the statement that said "capacity of 1MB memory is 10,000 logs."

When do i need the 1MB Expansion option? Post by Moderator on 6. May 2010, 14:48
The 1MB memory expansion is a "must have" if you want to use the logger function and don´t have the opportunity to log datas directly to a PC.
With 1MB you can save about 10000 readings, the standard 64K will only last for about 100 readings.

Please check my logic for calculating the log capacity:

1) 64K memory can hold 100 logs
2) 1024K (1MB) is 16x larger than 64K
3) This means that the 1MB memory should be able to hold 16x more logs, which is 1,600 logs, not 10,000 logs

Maybe some of the memory space is taken up by P-code programs also?


ReplyQuote
Moderator
(@moderator)
Member Admin
Joined: 10 years ago
Posts: 1048
22/12/2010 11:58 am  

The 64K memory also contains other data (e.g. P-Code for the hotkey, calibrationdata etc.) so in this case the calculation (1MB should hold 12 times of the 64K logger data) is wrong. In reality the 1MB expansion will indeed hold more then 10000 loggs instead of 100 with the 64K standard memory.

The bug is fixed. Indeed it was a firmware problem. Now 10000 logs are no problem with a 1MB expansion.
A new firmware with the fix (and some other bug fixes) is now available (Beta37!).
Please note that a wrong formated 1MB EEprom needs to be removed in our factory and cant be reformated with the new software.

Snip


ReplyQuote
Cetis1
(@cetis1)
Active Member
Joined: 10 years ago
Posts: 8
10/01/2011 5:49 pm  

I have the HF-6065 with the 1MB memory expansion. I installed firmware Beta 37, but my log capacity is still only 1280 lines.

Does this mean I should return my HF-6065 to the distributor so that its EEPROM can be changed at the factory?


ReplyQuote
Moderator
(@moderator)
Member Admin
Joined: 10 years ago
Posts: 1048
10/01/2011 6:01 pm  

Exactly

Snip


ReplyQuote
Share: